Cropped photo showing Scarlet Witch Wanda Maximoff's ripped stockings from Avengers 2 Age of Ultron

Scarlet Witch Avengers 2 – Ripped Tights

Hello all!  I hope everyone has enjoyed the release of Age of Ultron.  WHOOT!

While we are still waiting on the detailed post on Scarlet Witch’s Red leather jacket construction, I wanted to highlight a fantastic comment I received from a reader, Whitney on a previous article:

Regarding the tights. Those are burnout tights and really easy to make yourself.

Cut the legs off of opaque tights. Cut random holes. Burn edges of holes with a lighter. You can get the little uneven holes by burning the tights directly (no precut hole). Randomly do both the cut/burn holes and direct burn holes until it gets holey enough.

Burning it will give you the linear holes without running.

Fantastic advice.  I have several pairs of black tights I bought for experimenting.  I’ll try out the suggestion and post the results.

5 thoughts on “Scarlet Witch Avengers 2 – Ripped Tights”

    1. Hey! Sorry, somehow i missed your question. I’ve found a number of resellers, but at the moment, I lack the funds to invest in one to review their quality.

      You have inspired me to write a post about it though. 🙂 In the meantime, here’s the links I’ve collected so far:

      Keep in mind, none of these are exactly right. 4 details to look for – 3/4 sleeves, ombre colour (which you could do yourself), a ‘Z’ style seam detail in the front on both sides of the zipper, and bottom-edge that meets at the waist-level (not hips as is typical) that graduates down towards the front.

      An OK substitution is you aren’t looking for accuracy – http://www.ebay.com/itm/Elizabeth-Olsen-Avengers-2-Age-Of-Ultron-leather-costume-Jacket/261908483155?_trksid=p2047675.c100011.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D29981%26meid%3D6a6d4be792234f05860bfe301437ab64%26pid%3D100011%26rk%3D5%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D261711819415

      A bit closer, but the puffed sleeves into the cuff make this one less desirable – http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-UPS-Shipping-New-Avengers-Age-of-Ultron-Wanda-Maximoff-Scarlet-Witch-Cosplay-Costume/32367989472.html

      The closest, but the bottom edge is too low – http://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-Avengers-Age-of-Ultron-Wanda-Maximoff-Scarlet-Witch-Cosplay-Costume/32376460022.html

      There are a number of others listed if you simply do a google search, particularly on Ebay, but I won’t even consider any jacket that only uses movie photos as examples of the jacket.

      Hope that helps!

      Like

  1. Hey there! 🙂 I’ve been following your posts about the Scarlet Witch outfit for a while because I’m interested in making my own and I stumbled upon this dress at Hot Topic that I think could be an easy alternative to trying to find Wanda’s two dress combination. This one has a similar skirt and neckline to hers and I think it could work in a pinch 🙂 hope this helps anyone!
    http://m.hottopic.com/hottopic/Girls/Dresses/Black+Zipper+Front+Dress-10351837.jsp

    Like

    1. This is certainly a good foundation to start from that is readily and easily available, especially for those not inclined to sew.

      Thank you for the link! And good luck with your cosplay!

      Side note: I’m fairly certain her actual dress isn’t a 2-dress-combo, but rather a chiffon dress with an opaque black attached slip-lining. Please feel free to tell me if that isn’t addressed in my ‘Dress Detail’ post 🙂

      Like

Tell us all about it...

